Story Time: Monster Mind, Monster Space

Where can you reduce clutter in your life?

A two-legged kasa-obake.

§

According to Japanese folklore, a supernatural creature known as the Umbrella Monster, or Kasa-Obake, appears from abandoned umbrellas. After being abandoned for a hundred years, the umbrellas grow into yokai – a one-eyed, one(or two)-legged monster with a big, notorious tongue. To me, it mirrors the idea that ignoring external objects, especially commonplace ones, might result in the creation of interior disturbances or supernatural implications and vice versa. Ironically, this picture resembles a broom lol.

Thus, the most crucial thing that I or anyone else needs to detox and declutter is our minds. If that’s not possible, clean your immediate surroundings, and it will undoubtedly happen.

We frequently mistake clutter for what we can see and purposefully tidy up, but in reality, clutter is just an external manifestation of our internal chaos. Your closet, bedroom, attic and kitchen will eventually show the disarray in your head. One inevitably affects the other. Maintaining cleanliness and organisation in both your surroundings and yourself can help lower stress levels, regardless of how dire the circumstances may be. Whenever I am restless, I start cleaning something and oddly enough, it works. Trust me, I talk from experience, so you can take my word for it. I was never scared of dorm inspections which almost everyone dreaded & my friends came to my room just to soothe their eyes when they willed. A cute little memory I cherish.

If you wish to know more about using psychic detox as a stepping stone in your spiritual journey, Fasting The Mind: Spiritual Exercises for Psychic Detox is a great starting point. Here’s a post I made couple of years ago which enumerates ways to constantly improve oneself everyday. I’ve been following these habits without fail & they’ve significantly improved my mental, emotional & physical health over the years. They’ve become my nature and rightly so. I highly suggest checking these practical ways which might help you as much as they helped me.

Love,

P

Copyright©️primusing

Leave a comment