Hey! I exist Or….Do I?

Do you have a quote you live your life by or think of often?

I’m a big-time reader so it’s hard to choose just one, but these words by Stephen Crane put a lot of things into perspective whenever I feel swerved from the stillness within.

A man said to the universe:

“Sir, I exist!”

“However,” replied the universe,

“The fact has not created in me

A sense of obligation.”

In times when my sense of self inflates beyond what it should, this couplet grounds me and reminds me of the triviality of my existence in the grander scheme of things. On the contrary, when I’m feeling down or in need of a nudge forward or words of hope, it reminds me to keep striving, for no one, not even God, is obliged to do anything for me.

To keep this post brief, I’m not even going to touch the spiritual aspect of it all which I shared in so many of my previous posts like this one.

Love,

P

Copyright ©️ Primusing

2 thoughts on “Hey! I exist Or….Do I?

Leave a comment